ITIL Foundation: Course FAQs

About ITIL

What's ITIL?

ITIL is a public framework that guides IT professionals on how to align services with business needs.

What's it about?

It consists of 5 core books: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement (CSI).

What's service strategy?

This component of ITIL helps transform IT services from an organizational capability into a strategic asset of the business that is focused on value.

What's service design?

This component of ITIL allows an IT professional to determine functional requirements including architecture, processes, policies, performance and documentation.

What's service transition?

This component of ITIL enables IT professionals to develop and test IT services before they are deployed into production.

What's service operation?

This component of ITIL guides IT professionals to deliver and manage services at agreed levels.

What's continual service improvement (CSI)?

This component of ITIL helps IT professionals identify and implement improvements to IT services that support the business.

Why is it considered “best practice”?

ITIL includes proven activities or processes used by organizations throughout the IT industry to manage their services.

How can it be used in business?

ITIL defines a common approach to performing IT procedures, providing a reference of proven techniques that can be adopted and adapted by your organization.

What does ITIL provide?

You’ll receive a glossary of tightly defined and widely agreed-upon terms that enable customers, providers and suppliers to speak a common language.

Where did ITIL originate?

When Margaret Thatcher was the UK’s prime minister, she instructed government IT departments to document best practices, which led to the first release of ITIL in 1989.

Who's ITIL for?

ITIL is for any IT provider, regardless of size, technology or the industry they support.

About ITIL Foundation

What's ITIL Foundation?

This 8-pack of online, self-paced, accredited training courses for IT professionals provides a framework of terminology, best practices and guidance for each of the ITIL lifecycle stages.

What's covered?

The ITIL lifecycle stages of service strategy, design, transition and operation as well as continual service improvement (CSI) are discussed.

What's the purpose?

The purpose of each training is to impart, test and validate knowledge of best practices as documented in the ITIL publications.

Why should someone take it?

The course outlines why an organization should adopt ITIL best practices and the impact of taking them on. It also fulfills the prerequisities for moving up to the Practitioner or Intermediate levels.

Who should take it?

It's perfect for IT professionals who need a basic understanding of ITIL and its application in the workplace.

Are there any prerequisites?

Although there are no mandatory prerequisites, a basic knowledge of, and experience in, IT is beneficial.

How do you get ITIL Foundation certified?

For certification, candidates must pass a 40-question, 60-minute, multiple-choice exam. The passing score is 65% or 26 out of 40 answers must be correct.